v

 

 

 

Aggressive Representation for Traffic Violations and Speeding Tickets

Maintain a clean driving record with representation for traffic violations and speeding tickets from Atlanta Traffic Solutions. We provide aggressive representation for pretrial negotiations, jury trials, bench trials, and traffic court hearings.

Inside Courtroom - Speeding Tickets

Traffic Violations

Defend your driving reputation against fines, license suspensions, and driving demerits. For many people, a clear driving record is a necessity for employment. We offer proven strategies and services to help you avoid undesirable outcomes in traffic court.

Working with us is affordable and convenient. Just submit the exact charges against you or a copy of your ticket to get started. After payment is received and the retainer agreement is signed, we contact you the next day to discuss the details of your violation. We excuse you from court after you decide whether you want a bench trial, jury trial, or negotiation.


Pleading

Decrease the amount of your fine or fight all charges against you with our help. We give you expert advice and effectively handle your case. We assist those who want to plead guilty avoid expensive fines, points on their license, and jail time. Our traffic lawyer also helps with filing motions and representing you should you choose to enter a not-guilty plea during a bench trial.

Contact us in Decatur, Georgia, to request more information about how we are able to help you with traffic violations and speeding tickets. View our Fee Schedule for complete list of fees and available discounts.

Points and Points Reduction

Point System

The Georgia Point System ranges from 2 to 6 points. A driver with 15 points in a 24 month period will be suspended.

Points are assessed for each conviction pursuant to O.C.G.A. §40-5-57(c)(1)(A)

The State assesses no points for speeding convictions less than 15 miles-per hour over the posted speed limit and for convictions of driving 'Too Fast for Conditions', as per O.C.G.A. §40-6-180. No points are assessed against non-residents of Georgia.

Offense Code Conviction Points
§40-6-397 Aggressive Driving 6 Points
§40-6-390 Reckless Driving 4 Points
§40-6-163 Unlawful Passing School Bus 6 Points
§40-6-45 Improper Passing on Hill or Curve 4 Points
§40-6-181 Speeding:
15 to 18 mph over speed limit 2 Points
19 to 23 mph over speed limit 3 Points
24 to 33 mph over speed limit 4 Points
34 mph or more over speed limit 6 Points
§40-6-20 Failure to Obey Traffic-Control Device 3 Points
§40-6-2 Failure to Obey Police Officer 3 Points
§40-6-253 Possessing an Open Container of an Alcoholic Beverage while Driving 2 Points
§40-6-248.1 Failure to Adequately Secure Load (except fresh farm produce), resulting in an Accident 2 Points
§40-8-76 Violation of Child Safety Restraint
1st Offense 1 Point
2nd or Subsequent Offense 2 Points
§40-6-241.1 Violation of usage of wireless telecommunication device requirements 1 Point
§40-6-241.2 Operating a Vehicle while Text Messaging 1 Point
§40-6-54 Improper Use of Designated Travel Lane -  4th and Subsequent Offense 1 Point
  All Other Moving Violations 3 Points

Points Reductions

How do I obtain a Points Reduction?

In accordance with O.C.G.A §40-5-86, licensed Georgia residents may request that DDS reduce the number of points assessed against their Georgia driver's license up to 7 points once every 5 years.

To qualify for a Points Reduction, you must successfully complete a certified Driver Improvement (defensive driving) course and present the original certificate of completion to the DDS by mail or in person at one of our Customer Service Centers.

If you request a Points Reduction by mail, please mail the original Driver Improvement (defensive driving) certificate of completion to the Georgia Department of Driver Services, P. O. Box 80447, Conyers, Georgia 30013.

A list of certified Driver Improvement (defensive driving) course can be found at the following link: http://www.dds.ga.gov/DUI/SchoolMatrix.aspx

Driver's License Suspensions and Revocations

The State of Georgia considers dangerous, negligent or incompetent drivers to be a menace to the safety of the general public. Driving is a privilege - if you abuse it you may lose it!

There are three ways to lose your driving privileges.

Cancellation: The Department of Driver Services is authorized to cancel your driver's license if you fail to give the required or correct information needed in your application or if you are otherwise ineligible. You may reapply once you satisfy the requirements.
Revocation: When your driver's license is revoked your driving privileges are terminated and withdrawn until the end of the period of time prescribed by the formal action of the DDS. At the expiration of the revocation period, you may apply for a new driver’s license once you satisfy the requirements.
Suspension: When your driver's license is suspended, your driving privilege is temporarily withdrawn for a specific period of time. At the expiration of the suspension period, you may apply for a driver's license once you satisfy the requirements.

Reinstatement Information

At the expiration of the suspension or revocation period, a customer can apply for reinstatement once all requirements are satisfied. Please note that requirements differ according to the type of suspensions. Select for Reinstatement Information.

Reporting Convictions

After a conviction of a traffic offense, the court will forward notice of that conviction to DDS. The conviction information will be placed on the driver's driving record by DDS and additional penalties will be imposed, if applicable.

Mandatory Suspension

The Department of Driver Services shall suspend a license for a conviction of any of the following offenses in Georgia or any other state:

  1. Homicide by vehicle.
  2. Any felony in the commission of which a motor vehicle is used.
  3. Using a motor vehicle in fleeing or attempting to elude an officer.
  4. Fraudulent application for a license or fictitious use of a license.
  5. Hit and run or leaving the scene of an accident.
  6. Racing.
  7. Operating a motor vehicle with a revoked, canceled, or suspended registration.
  8. Felony forgery relating to an Identification document.

Other Common Suspensions

  1. Refusal to take a chemical test in conjunction with an arrest for DUI.
  2. Conviction for driving without insurance.
  3. If convicted for driving while license is suspended, the customer's driver's license will be further suspended for six months.
  4. Failure to appear in court or respond to a traffic citation, your license may be suspended indefinitely.
  5. Any violation of the Georgia Control Substance Act.
  6. DDS is authorized to suspend your license if its records or other evidence shows that you have accumulated 15 points within 24 months under the point system, including violations committed out of state. Select for information on Points and Points Reduction.
  7. A conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

Mandatory Revocation

When a license is revoked driving privileges are terminated and withdrawn until the end of the prescribed time period brought on by formal action by DDS. At the expiration of the revocation period and once all requirements are met, applicant is eligible to restore driving privileges.

Your driver's license will be revoked in Georgia, if you are convicted of one of the following:

  1. A driver is declared a habitual violator for any third conviction of a mandatory suspended offense within 5 years. Revocation is for 5 years.
  2. Refusal to submit to a re-examination of driving skills or knowledge of driving rules after receiving notice giving reasonable grounds for such a request.
  3. If there is sufficient evidence of incompetence or unfitness to drive, due to being incapacitated by reason of disease, mental or physical disability, or by alcohol or drug addiction.

Limited Driving Permits

In some situations, a limited driving permit may be available for a fee during the suspension period, select for Fees & Terms details. A limited driving permit would only allow the following:

  1. Drive to your place of employment or to perform the normal duties of your occupation.
  2. Receive scheduled medical attention or obtain prescribed drugs.
  3. Attend classes at a college or school in which you are enrolled as a student.
  4. Attend regularly scheduled sessions or meeting of support organizations for the treatment of alcohol or other drugs.
  5. Attend a driver education program or alcohol/drug assessment and treatment program.

DDS may also specify the places you can travel to, specific routes of travel, times of travel, and indicate vehicles, or other restrictions deemed necessary. Limited driving permits are not valid for driving a commercial vehicle.

A limited driving permit will be revoked by DDS if you are convicted of: violating any state law or local ordinance relating to the movement of vehicles or violating any of the conditions or restrictions of your permit. A conviction will, also, extend the underlying suspension of your driving privilege for an additional 6 months.

Under 21 Years of Age Suspension

The driver's license of any person under 21 years of age convicted of any of the following offenses shall be SUSPENDED:

  1. Hit and run or leaving the scene of an accident in violation.
  2. Racing on highways or streets.
  3. Using a motor vehicle in fleeing or attempting to elude an officer.
  4. Reckless driving.
  5. Any offense for which four or more points are assessable.
    1. Unlawful passing of a school bus.
    2. Improper passing on a hill or curve.
    3. Exceeding the speed limit by 24 miles per hour or more.
    4. Aggressive Driving.
  6. Purchasing an alcoholic beverage.
  7. Driving under the Influence.
  8. Misrepresenting age for purpose of illegally obtaining any alcoholic beverage.
  9. Misrepresenting identity or using false identification for purpose of purchasing or obtaining any alcoholic beverage.
  10. The driver's license of any person under 18 years of age who has accumulated a violation point count of four or more points within any 12 month period.

DUI

As of July 1, 2009

 

AgeOffense Count BACLengthFeeDUI SchoolEval/Tx.InterlockPermit

0-15

1st

N/A

Age 17

$210.00

Yes

N

N

No

 

2nd +

N/A

Age 18

$310.00

Yes

N

N

No

16-20

1st

Under .08

6 months

$210.00

Yes

N

N

No

 

1st

.08+

12 months

$210.00

Yes

N

N

No

 

2nd + or prior juv. susp.

N/A

12 months

$310.00

Yes

Yes

Yes

Interlock Permit

after 1 year

21+

1st

N/A

120 days

$210.00

Yes

No

No

Yes, immediately

 

1st, prior mandatory

N/A

120 days

$210.00

Yes

No

No

No

 

2nd

N/A

18 months

$210.00

Yes

Yes

Yes

Interlock Permit

after 1 year

 

3rd

N/A

HV

$410.00

Yes

Yes

Yes

Possibly

 

As of January 1, 2013

AgeDescriptionBACLengthFeeDUI SchoolEval/Tx.InterlockPermit

0-15

1st

N/A

Age 17

$210.00

Yes

No

No

No

 

2nd

N/A

Age 18

$310.00

Yes

No

No

No

 

3rd+

N/A

Age 18

$410.00

Yes

No

No

No

16-20

1/5

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Low BAC

Under .08

6 months

$210.00

Yes

No

No

No

 

High BAC without ALS

.08+

12 months

$210.00

Yes

No

No

No

 

High BAC with ALS

.08+

12 months

$210.00

Yes

No

No

Permit available for ALS, but cancelled upon DUI conviction

 

With Implied Consent Suspension

N/A

6 months, but implied consent is 1 year

$210.00

Yes

No

No

No

 

2/5

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Without ALS

N/A

18 months

$310.00

Yes

Yes

Yes

Interlock Permit

after 120 days with court permission

 

With ALS

N/A

18 months

$310.00

Yes

Yes

Yes

Permit available for 1/5 ALS, but not 2+/5. Interlock Permit

after 120 days with court permission

 

With Implied Consent Suspension

N/A

18 months

$310.00

Yes

Yes

Yes

Ignition interlock permit delayed until after implied consent suspension (12 months)

 

3/5

N/A

5 years

$410.00

Yes

Yes

Yes

HV probationary license with interlock may be available after 2 years with court permission

21+

1/5, no administrative suspension

N/A

120 days

$210.00

Yes

No

No

Yes

 

1/5 with ALS

N/A

120 days

$210.00

Yes

No

No

Yes

 

1/5 with implied consent suspension

N/A

120 days, but implied consent suspension is 1 year

$210.00

Yes

No

No

No

 

1/5, prior mandatory, but no administrative suspension

N/A

120 days

$210.00

Yes

No

No

No

 

1/5, prior mandatory and ALS

N/A

120 days

$210.00

Yes

No

No

No

 

1/5, prior mandatory and implied consent suspension

N/A

120 days, but implied consent suspension is 1 year

$210.00

Yes

No

No

No

 

2/5, no administrative suspension

N/A

18 months

$210.00

Yes

Yes

Yes

Interlock Permit

after 120 days with court permission

 

2/5 with ALS

N/A

18 months

$210.00

Yes

Yes

Yes

Interlock Permit

after 120 days with court permission

 

2/5 with implied consent suspension

N/A

18 months

$210.00

Yes

Yes

Yes

Interlock permit after 120 days with court permission, though delayed until IC completed

 

2/5 with prior mandatory

N/A

HV-5 years

$410.00

Yes

Yes

Yes

Possibly

 

3/5

N/A

HV-5 years

$410.00

Yes

Yes

Yes

Possibly

 


Age is based upon the date of the conviction.

Count is within five (5) years based upon the incident dates.

Completion of a clinical evaluation and treatment, if recommended, is not required for reinstatement of a first DUI within five (5) years under O.C.G.A. §40-5-63.1, but it would apply for a second offense in ten (10) years.  Notwithstanding the foregoing, Courts may include completion of the clinical evaluation and treatment as a condition of probation on a first DUI.

See Note 3.

Customers subject to a habitual violator revocation may be eligible for a probationary license after serving the first 2 years of the revocation.  Some prior convictions on the customer’s history can make them ineligible, including moving violations, underage alcohol offenses and drug or marijuana offenses.


Controlled Substance or Marijuana Notes:
1. Age is based upon the date of the conviction.
2. Count is within five (5) years based upon the incident dates.
3. Blood Alcohol Content.
4. Completion of a clinical evaluation and treatment, if recommended, is not required for reinstatement of a first DUI within five (5) years under O.C.G.A. §40-5-63.1, but it would apply for a second offense in ten (10) years. Notwithstanding the foregoing, Courts may include completion of the clinical evaluation and treatment as a condition of probation on a first DUI.
5. See Note 3.
6. Customers subject to a habitual violator revocation may be eligible for a probationary license after serving the first 2 years of the revocation. Some prior convictions on the customer's history can make them ineligible, including moving violations, underage alcohol offenses and drug or marijuana offenses.

A person convicted of possession, distribution, sale, use, etc., of a controlled substance or marijuana will be subject to the suspension of his or her driver's license or driving privilege even if the offense did not occur in or involve the use of a motor vehicle.

  1. For a first conviction within five (5) years as calculated between the incident dates, the period of suspension is 180 days. Reinstatement requires submission of an approved DUI Drug or Alcohol Use Risk Reduction program and payment of a reinstatement fee. Select for details of Reinstatement Fees and Payment Options.
  2. The period of suspension for a second offense within five (5) years as calculated between the incident dates is one (1) year. Customers must submit a certificate of completion from an approved DUI Drug or Alcohol Use Risk Reduction Program and pay a reinstatement fee. Select for details of Reinstatement Fees and Payment Options.
  3. The period of suspension for a third offense within five (5) years as calculated among the incident dates is 5 years. A limited driving permit is available after the first two (2) years of the suspension.
  4. In some cases, the driver must apply for reinstatement to begin counting time toward the suspension period. Please contact DDS for additional details.

Please contact DDS at the number below for specific information regarding suspensions and reinstatements of all other controlled substance convictions.

Need Reinstatement Information?

You can contact the Department Of Driver Services 678-413-8400, or toll-free 866-754-3687 (inside Georgia but outside Metro Atlanta Area). Representatives are available Monday through Friday, 7:00 am until 5:15 pm to assist with reinstatement questions.

OR

You can submit a letter requesting reinstatement requirements to: the Georgia Department of Driver Services, Post Office Box 80447, Conyers, Ga. 30013. This request must contain your name as it appears on your driver's license, license number, date of birth, correct mailing address, and your signature.

OR

You can visit one of the DDS Customer Service Centers that offer full reinstatements. Select for a listing of Customer Service Center locations, hours of operations and services.

View information on Reinstatement Fees and Payment Options.